MVP favorite Fajardo, Beermen likely to banner Mythical Team

first_imgMOST READ Kiss-and-tell matinee idol’s conquests: True stories or tall tales? Coco’s house rules on ‘Probinsyano’ set June Mar Fajardo. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/ INQUIRER.netSan Miguel may have failed on its Grand Slam bid, but June Mar Fajardo and company can still make history in the 2017 Leo Awards.The Cebuano giant is poised to take home his fourth Most Valuable Player award, tying legends Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio for the record of most MVP plums, but will be the first to achieve the feat in consecutive seasons.ADVERTISEMENT San Sebastian stays in Final Four race with humbling of Mapua Jake says relationship with Shaina ‘goes beyond physical attraction’ View comments Fajardo amassed 38.58 SPs to unsurprisingly top the overall statistical points race released at the end of the 2017 PBA Governors’ Cup semifinals. His continued dominance helped the Beermen achieve championships in this season’s Philippine Cup and Commissioner’s Cup.Fajardo has already earned his part in history, tying his mentor Danny Ildefonso for most Best Player of the Conference plums at five after bagging the highest individual honor in the last 2017 Philippine Cup.FEATURED STORIESSPORTSRedemption is sweet for Ginebra, Scottie ThompsonSPORTSMayweather beats Pacquiao, Canelo for ‘Fighter of the Decade’SPORTSFederer blasts lack of communication on Australian Open smogBut it’s not all Fajardo, as his fellow San Miguel players are also poised to nab spots in the Mythical Teams.Alex Cabagnot is running second in the MVP race with his 32.96 SPs, Arwind Santos is the top forward in the chase as he sits at fifth with his 30.97 SPs, and Marcio Lassiter sits ath 10th with his 29.55 SPs. Chris Ross is also likely to land a spot in the Mythical Teams after winning the BPC award in the Commissioner’s Cup as he is at eighth with his 30.40 SPs. Don’t miss out on the latest news and information. Margot Robbie talks about filming ‘Bombshell’s’ disturbing sexual harassment scene It’s too early to present Duterte’s ‘legacy’ – Lacson LATEST STORIES OSG plea to revoke ABS-CBN franchise ‘a duplicitous move’ – Lacson As much as three of San Miguel’s players could make it to the Mythical First Team, a feat that hasn’t been done since Purefoods’ James Yap, Kerby Raymundo, and Roger Yap made it in the 2005-06 season.Other players have also made a case in the Mythical Team selection, with GlobalPort scorer Terrence Romeo at third with 32.01 SPs, TNT slasher Jayson Castro at fourth with 31.52 SPs, Japeth Aguilar of Ginebra at six (30.85 SPs), Stanley Pringle of GlobalPort at seven (30.63 SPs), and Calvin Abueva of Alaska at nine (30.11 SPs).Meanwhile, the Rookie of the Year award race remains as a three-man chase.Phoenix shooter Matthew Wright is still the top rookie with 26.07 SPs, but failing to help his team advance to the semifinals may hurt his candidacy.Closely pursuing him are TNT swingman Roger Pogoy, who amassed 22.29 SPs, and Star playmaker Jio Jalalon, who had 21.50 SPs.ADVERTISEMENT Landing at number four is Ginebra defender Kevin Ferrer, who has 15.64 SPs, and Kia guard Reden Celda, who netted 13.99 SPs.The 2017 Leo Awards is set before Game 4 of the Ginebra-Meralco Finals series next Friday at Smart Araneta Coliseum.Sports Related Videospowered by AdSparcRead Next Steam emission over Taal’s main crater ‘steady’ for past 24 hours Jo Koy: My brain always wants to think funny Trending Articles PLAY LIST 00:50Trending Articles00:50Trending Articles01:42Despite decorated career, June Mar Fajardo is not yet done: ‘I don’t want to be stagnant’02:14Carpio hits red carpet treatment for China Coast Guard02:56NCRPO pledges to donate P3.5 million to victims of Taal eruption00:56Heavy rain brings some relief in Australia02:37Calm moments allow Taal folks some respite03:23Negosyo sa Tagaytay City, bagsak sa pag-aalboroto ng Bulkang Taal01:13Christian Standhardinger wins PBA Best Player award Jake says relationship with Shaina ‘goes beyond physical attraction’last_img read more